Baked Eggplant and Zucchini Fries with Honey Mustard Aioli

Hello. My name is Jamie, and I am addicted to french fries.

photo 2

I’m definitely a non-discriminatory addict. I love regular fries, shoe string fries, seasoned fries, truffle fries, wedge fries. Sweet potato fries hold a special place in my heart, especially when eaten at Sweetwater’s in Burlington, VT.  The best fries I’ve ever had are at Caseus in New Haven. Try them. They’re amazing.

photo 3

But I can’t just stuff my face with fries on the reg (oh my god how awesome would that beeeeee). So, I needed to be creative and come up with a healthy alternative. Thus, baked eggplant and zucchini fries were born. Baked instead of fried, and real veggies as opposed to potatoes. Because, lets be honest, potatoes are kind of veggie impostors.

photo 1

I was nervous, but I LOVED these zucchini and eggplant fries. Zukes and eggplants are pretty hearty veggies and they held their shape well when baked at the high temp. The aioli for dipping was clutch. The spiciness of the mustard went perfectly with the little bit of onion powder and lemon pepper that seasoned the fries. They were perfect.

photo 4

For my fellow fry addicts out there, you need to try these. They’re a perfect alternate for the real deal when you feel like you need to behave yourself.

photo 5

Recipe:

Prep time: 5 minutes | Bake time: 25-30 minutes | Total time: 35 minutes

Yield: 4 servings

Fries

  • 1 medium sized eggplant
  • 2 medium sized zucchini
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp lemon pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste

Aioli

  • 3 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon whole grain mustard
  • 1 teaspoon rice wine vinegar

Preheat oven to 425 º F. Slice eggplan and zucchini in to homogenous strips, about 4 inches long and about 1/4-1/2 an inch thick. Place on baking sheet, drizzle on olive oil and add seasonings. Mix by hand then distribute the fries evenly over the baking sheet, keep in them all in one layer. If some of them are overlapping, just put them on an additional baking sheet; if they’re layered, they wont be crispy! Place in oven and bake for 25-30 minutes, until browned and crispy.

To make the aioli, simply mix the mayo, honey, mustard and vinegar together until smooth. And dip away!

14 thoughts on “Baked Eggplant and Zucchini Fries with Honey Mustard Aioli

  1. We have a similar level of fry addiction/love… but I’ll about trying to find new alternatives to fill their void when I’m trying to be healthier. THese zucchini and eggplant fries sound perfectly seasoned and super addictive!

  2. What a wonderful idea, I love these! They look so crispy and amazing, they make me wish I had a tray full of them in front of me right now… Thanks for the great idea 😀

Leave a Reply

