Healthy Oat Cookies {Vegan and Gluten Free}

Oh hey! Hi! You guys, I’m back!

photo 1

Oh my goodness, it feels like forever. Over a whole week without blogging! I am so sorry, but I’m also kind of not because I went on vacation to the Basin Harbor Club and it was awesome. I ate and swam and ate and kayaked and ate and paddle boarded and ate and drank. Perfection. Then I went to Burlington and spent the weekend with my best friends from college. We boated, grilled and ate pumpkin pie while wearing sweatshirts. That’s right. Pumpkin pie with sweatshirts. It felt like fall and I LOVED IT. Apple picking, cider and pumpkin baking is so so close!

photo 5

Anywayyssss. Given my moderate (ahem) overeating this last week, I thought I’d share a healthy cookie recipe with you today. After vacation, a girl still needs her cookies, but they might as well be somewhat healthy, right??

photo 4

 

These little bites of goodness are chewy and delicious, and you can basically add in anything your heart desires. I used peanut butter, coconut, white chocolate and strawberries. These were super yummy, but might have been even better had I used cashew or almond butter. But I cant keep that stuff in my house because the entire jar would be gone in a day. True story.

photo 3

So, if you need a healthy cookie to get you back on track after vaca, or just because you want to eat 12 cookies and once and not feel cookie guilt afterwards (cookie guilt=the worst kind of guilt), these are for you. Enjoy!

Recipe

Prep time: 10 minutes | Bake time: 10-12 minutes | Total time: 30 minutes

Yield: Approximately 12 cookies

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 overripe banana, mashed
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (or any other nut butter)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 packets stevia
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut
  • 2 tbsp white chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup diced fresh strawberries

Preheat oven to 350 º F.  In a large bowl, mix oats, banana, and peanut butter. Add cinnamon, vanilla and stevia and mix until combined. Fold in coconut, chocolate and strawberries. Spoon cookies on to baking sheets and bake for approximately 10-12 minutes. Remove and let cool for approximately 5 minutes on baking sheet, then transfer to a wire rack to cool.

8 thoughts on “Healthy Oat Cookies {Vegan and Gluten Free}

Leave a Reply

