Sautéed Zucchini and Summer Squash

I was a complete glutton this weekend. Cookies. Wine. Cheese. Carbs. I had them all and they were all awesome. I’m not sorry.

photo 1

I’m mostly not sorry is because, after a weekend of uninhibited eating and drinking, I can compensate by eating super delicious vegetables.

Wait, wait, wait. Before you judge me as a freak for loving vegetables and click away, hear me out. This sautéed zucchini and summer squash is extremely yummy, I promise. The squash is slightly sweet, and takes on this amazing texture when cooked slowly. The red pepper flakes add a hint of heat. It’s divine. So divine, in fact, that I’ve taken down and entire skillet of this stuff for dinner and not even craved dessert.

photo 2

I know, it’s crazy.

photo 4

If you’ve had an indulgent weekend like me (which I realllllyyyy hope you did because indulgent weekends are just the best), whip this up tonight and realize that it’s totally not a big deal. Because following it up with this dish is a delicious way to rid your self of post-glutton guilt. Believe me, I’ve been there. I know things.

photo 3

Recipe

Prep time: 5 minutes | Cook time: 20 minutes | Total time: 25 minutes

  • 3 medium yellow squash
  • 3 medium zucchini
  • ½ large white onion, diced
  • ½ tps garlic powder
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes (more if desired)
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • Sea salt, pepper to taste
  • ¼ cup shredded parmesan cheese

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Slice the squash and zucchini in to ¼ inch thick pieces, trying to make them as similar in size as possible. Add all ingredients except for cheese into the heated saucepan and sauté for about 20 minutes until onions are translucent and squash is soft. Remove from heat and top with parmesan cheese. Serve immediately.

5 thoughts on “Sautéed Zucchini and Summer Squash

  1. I was a gluten this weekend too! Sangria, chips, guacamole, and this amazing cornbread with honey butter. Now it’s back to the juice and veggies for a couple days! These look so good. I love summer squash!

  2. Pingback: Zucchini Overload? | Dear Doctor Mom

Leave a Reply

